Mar 202014

A tribute to Bob Dylan’s Eighties recordings, Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One (ATO), will feature a number of famous artists, some of whom are Louisville musicians, including Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Dawn Landes (“Dark Eyes”), and Carl Broemel (“Death is Not the End”). Per “The album focuses on an 11-year span—from 1980’s Saved to 1990’s Under the Red Sky, plus unreleased tracks (an ‘80s Basement Tapes anyone?) and the Traveling Wilburys—which the album’s producers Jesse Lauter and Sean O’Brien feel is an overlooked period for the artist.

For more head over to

Jan 312014

Given Louisville native Dawn Landes’ current residency somewhere in greater New York, it’s only reasonable that she would have run into the street dancer Storyboard P, who is featured in her new video, “Bluebird.” The song is from her upcoming album by the same name. It will be her first full-length release in four years. Listen and watch – especially watch:

Nov 192013

Dawn Landes - Bluebird
Louisville native Dawn Landes, who recently signed with the Austin-based Western Vinyl, will release Bluebird in February, which was produced by her frequent collaborator Thomas Bartlett (a.k.a. Doveman) and features contributions from Tony Scherr, Rob Moose and Norah Jones. Head over to for a sample of tunes from the new record. The track list looks like this:
01. Bluebird
02. Try To Make A Fire Burn Again
03. Bloodhound
04. Heel Toe
05. Cry No More
06. Oh Brother
07. Diamond Rivers
08. Love Song
09. Lullaby For Tony
10. Home

Apr 212013

Josh Ritter and his Royal City Band just played the Brown on Friday, where he might have played this tune, “Hopeful,” from his recently released The Beast in Its Tracks, a sort-of divorce record, written in the wake of his split from Dawn Landes:

UPDATE: Tabitha Hernadez has a review of Ritter’s show at the Brown.